Canadian Federal Election 2019: What you need to know

[et_pb_section fb_built=”1″ _builder_version=”3.29.3″ custom_padding=”1px|||||” fb_built=”1″ _i=”0″ _address=”0″ min_height=”2217px”][et_pb_row _builder_version=”3.29.3″ _i=”0″ _address=”0.0″][et_pb_column type=”4_4″ _builder_version=”3.29.3″ _i=”0″ _address=”0.0.0″][et_pb_text _builder_version=”3.29.3″ header_text_color=”#12595b” header_6_text_color=”#12595b” _i=”0″ _address=”″]

It’s Federal Election time and the Advanced polls are open. We live in one of the most amazing countries in the world and are incredibly lucky to have the process and options we have, even if they’re not always perfect. So go out there and exercise your right to vote. Remember; your voice matters and your vote matters.

Voting in Whitehorn

Advanced Polling will be at Annie Gale Junior High (577 Whiteridge Way NE) October 11-14 from 9am to 9pm

Election Day voting will be here at the Whitehorn Community Association (228 Whitehorn Rd NE) October 21 from 7:30am to 7:30pm


Looking to better understand how our elections work?

Check out this great guide all about elections in Canada and how our system works:


How To Vote

For those who need information on how to vote, Global News put out a great how-to article chock full of information for first-time voters on the process and what kind of documentation you will need. It is also available in multiple languages:


Need to Register to Vote?

If you think you are not yet registered to vote, you can register online or in person at any Election Canada office until Tuesday, October 15 at 6pm. You can register online here:


What kind of Identification Do You Need?

For a list of accepted ID, see here:


Advanced Polling is Now Open

The dates for advanced polling are October 11, 12, 13, and 14 from 9am to 9pm. The advanced polling for the Whitehorn area will be at Annie Gale Junior High School at 577 Whiteridge Way NE.

To find alternative locations, please go to the Elections Canada page and enter in your postal code to view all the information for your area including where you can vote:


Who to Vote For

For those who are still deciding who they will vote for, here’s a round up of articles for you to check out on party platforms and how they compare:


And finally, here is the list of candidates for our riding (Calgary Skyview):

Liberal – Nirmala Naidoo

Conservative – Jag Sahota

NDP – Gurinder Singh Gill

Green – Signe Knutson

PPC – Harry Dhillon

CHP – Joseph Alexander

M-L – Daniel Blanchard

CFF – Harpreet Singh Dawar

You can view all the candidates for all the Calgary ridings here:


Scroll to Top